Feb 28, 2024  
2023-2024 College Catalog 
    
2023-2024 College Catalog

Mathematics/Applied Math/Statistics Pre-Major, AA-DTA Planning Guide


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: All Planning Guides A-Z

Need to print? Click the “print degree planner” icon . Do not use the print icon button .

To use this planning guide, check the Class Schedule.

Where does my path start?


You will complete an Associate of Arts - Direct Transfer Agreement  (AA-DTA) at Shoreline.

Once you complete your Shoreline degree, you can transfer to a four-year school to earn a Bachelor of Arts or Science degree in Mathematics or Applied Mathematics or Statistics. Mathematics is an excellent choice for further graduate studies in Math, Statistics, Education, Medicine and Law.

What courses should I take?

This unofficial guide is intended to support you as you prepare for your major. Please consult with an advisor and your chosen four-year school(s), as program and admissions requirements vary and may change without notice.  

General Education Requirements - 20 Credits


Communication (10 Credits)


Multicultural Understanding (5 Credits)


Choose one of the following courses:


CMST 203 , CMST 285 , GWS 284 HIST& 220 , HIST 245 , HUM 105 , MCS 105 , PSYC 230 , SOC 270 .

Quantitative/Symbolic Reasoning (5 Credits)


Choose one of the following classes:

MATH& 107 , MATH 111 , MATH& 141 , MATH& 142 , MATH& 146 , MATH& 148 , MATH& 151 , MATH& 152 , MATH& 163 , MATH 207 , MATH 208 , MATH 211 , MATH& 264 , PHIL& 120 . Strongly recommended: MATH& 151 .

* Students planning to transfer to the University of Washington must consult Math Advising, mathadvising@shoreline.edu.

Distribution Requirements - 45 Credits


Humanities (15 Credits)


Select from at least two different disciplines (e.g., Art and Drama) in Humanities . Maximum of 5 credits allowed in Performance/Skills courses. No more than 5 credits in a world language at the 100 level.

Natural Sciences (15 Credits)


Select from at least two different disciplines (e.g.Biology and Physics) in Natural Sciences . At least 10 credits required in Physical, Earth, and/or Biological Sciences, including at least 5 credits of lab science. Maximum 5 credits from Other Science courses. Recommended: PHYS& 114 , PHYS& 115 , PHYS& 221 , PHYS& 222 CHEM 171 /CHEM 181 , CHEM 172 /CHEM 182 , CHEM 173 /CHEM 183 . Strongly recommended: MATH& 152 .

Social Sciences (15 Credits)


Select from at least two different disciplines (e.g., Psychology and History) in Social Sciences . Recommended: ECON& 201 , ECON& 202 , PSYC& 100 .

General Electives - Minimum 25 Credits


Comprised of other college-level courses or unrestricted courses. A maximum of 15 credits allowed for restricted/vocational courses, and a maximum of 3 credits allowed in Physical Education. Please see the lists of Restricted Electives  and Elective Courses (Non-restricted) . Recommended: CS& 141 , PHYS& 116 , PHYS& 223 . Strongly recommended: MATH& 163 , MATH& 264 , MATH 207 , MATH 208 , MATH 211 .

Where can I go for help?


For course information and entry codes, contact:

mathadvising@shoreline.edu

General Academic Advising

FOSS (5000) Building, Rm. 5229  206-546-4559  advising@shoreline.edu  www.shoreline.edu/advising

Tiff Meier  206-546-6953 tmeier@shoreline.edu Rm 5231

International Student Academic Advising

9000 Building, Rm. 9302  206-546-4697  ieadvisors@shoreline.edu  www.shoreline.edu/international/advising/

Program Faculty Advisors

Steven Bogart  206-546-6986 sbogart@shoreline.edu Rm 5333
Shana Calaway  206-546-4628 scalaway@shoreline.edu Rm 5308
Shannon Flynn  206-546-4705 sflynn@shoreline.edu Rm 5346
Fred Kuczmarski  206-546-6993 fkuczmar@shoreline.edu Rm 5348
Sarah Leyden  206-546-5819 sleyden@shoreline.edu Rm 5357
Trevor Pelletier  206-546-6789 tpelletier@shoreline.edu Rm 5633
Lauren Sandven  206-533-6795 lsandven@shoreline.edu Rm 5311
Nirmala Savage  206-533-6610 nsavage@shoreline.edu Rm 5354
Marek Wyzgowski  206-546-4658 pwyzgowski@shoreline.edu Rm 5300

Where can I transfer and what does my chosen four-year school require?


Before choosing classes, become familiar with the four-year program where you want to apply: visit the website, email the department, and/or speak with a Shoreline advisor. Below are examples from Washington schools with different admissions and graduation requirements.

Major Information General Transfer Information
Central Washington University http://www.cwu.edu/admissions/transfer-students
Eastern Washington University https://www.ewu.edu/apply/transfer/
Gonzaga University http://tinyurl.com/7c9d6xh
Heritage University http://www.heritage.edu/Admissions/Transfer-Students/
Northwest University https://www.northwestu.edu/admissions/transfer-guide/
Pacific Lutheran University https://www.plu.edu/admission-transfer/
Saint Martin’s University http://tinyurl.com/j3pktl2
Seattle Pacific University http://tinyurl.com/z46xxxr
Seattle University http://tinyurl.com/z3kjpcm
The Evergreen State College http://tinyurl.com/zhyjy3s
University of Puget Sound http://tinyurl.com/h7yqx8s
University of Washington - Bothell https://www.uwb.edu/admissions/apply/transfer
University of Washington - Seattle https://admit.washington.edu/Apply/Transfer/
Walla Walla University https://www.wallawalla.edu/admissions-and-aid/steps-to-enrollment/transfer-students
Washington State University https://admission.wsu.edu/apply/transfer-students/
Western Washington University https://admissions.wwu.edu/transfer
Whitworth University https://www.whitworth.edu/cms/administration/admissions/transfer-students/
Whitman College https://www.whitman.edu/admission-and-aid/applying-to-whitman/transfer-students

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: All Planning Guides A-Z